660 major problems....fustrating! - Yamaha Raptor Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 07-25-2016, 04:35 PM Thread Starter

660 major problems....fustrating!

Hi all newbie here feel free to move if iv posted in wrong area

Im totally new to quads sorry please excuse me if i sound stupid....

My 660 has had a full rebuild but the problem i have is it seems to be running rich as in spark plug is black as the ace of spades and it shoots out black smoke with the odd flame when reving in neutral it also struggles to start and idle. once its running it runs mint or so i thought (ill get to this part ) but once you let off the throttle after reaching the top of a dune for example and try idle down the other side it stalls, iv got to keep toggling the throttle to keep it going.

Mods as far as i can see are as follow:

Holes drilled on top of the air box
Standard filter
Slip on HMF pipe
140 - 145 jets
22.5 pilot

Now the other part.... although it seems to pull hard i just cant seem to pull away for a my friends pesky LTZ400s and YFZ450s

Iv got the carb out but im not to keen on touching the inside.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 65 (permalink) Old 07-26-2016, 08:39 PM
Lifetime VIP

Did it run good before the rebuild? Is the air filter clean?

I'm suprised it's running rich. It sounds like you have a carb issue. With holes in the air box lid you should need larger mains and pilots. Where are your idle screws set?
post #3 of 65 (permalink) Old 07-26-2016, 09:09 PM Thread Starter

Weird isnt it was thinking much the same running rich BUT has holes drilled and a slip on. Idle screws were about 1.5 turn out and 2 3/4 out on the other side.