I was asked to post this information for everyone to see (a more populated area) so that anyone riding in Oregon can take care of their business and try to save themselves a ticket. I don't know if they are enforcing it yet, but I'd rather not try and find out.
i've just been thinking about the May Raptor Rally in windy bay and opened my wallet to see my ATV safety card sitting there and realized almost everyone (except the oldies) have to have it this year. Just wanting to make sure you guys are prepared and to save you some cash so we don't get in trouble and targeted as a large group without a clue!
The website is www.rideATVoregon.org
Please take this seriously! This year (2010) everyone 30 and under is required to have this on them at ALL times while riding, and this includes children!
According to the oregon parks and recreation website, A person who operates an off road vehicle in a designated off road area or trail without a permit and decal is subject to a Class C traffic violation, which imposes a maximum fine of $180! If you have a card and your child doesn't (under 16 i believe?) you can receive a child negligence fine.
If you ride a dirt bike, quad, or UTV you are required to have it, but online ATV safety education is not required for operating a dune buggy, sand rail, jeep, 4x4 truck, or Sport Utility Vehicle (SUV) off-road in Oregon. However, the operator must hold a valid driver license.
This is the most important part... This test took me about an hour or so to do, its VERY lengthy... but! you can challenge the test.
In order to challenge the course, you need to be at least 16 years of age with five or more years of riding experience. During initial account setup, you will be given an opportunity to complete and submit a “challenge the course” form. If you meet all minimum requirements and agree to the testing conditions, you will be given one opportunity to bypass the study materials and take an “equivalency exam.” If you pass the exam with a minimum score of 80% correct, you will be issued an ATV Safety Education Card. If you fail the exam, you will be sent back to the standard online course including reviewing the study materials, taking chapter quizzes, and passing the final exam.
for more questions please refer back to the main website, it takes about 30 days to receive a temp card so I advise you to all do this ASAP! People from washington and cali will be required to do it aswell, unless your state offers an online safety education card themselves.
this online test is required for anyone riding in oregon. you can look up more about the laws here. http://www.oregon.gov/OPRD/ATV/index.shtml
Found the law for out of country, and out of state riders.
Q: I’m from another state or country and wish to ride an ATV or motorcycle in Oregon. Do I need to take the online ATV safety education course and carry an Oregon ATV Safety Education Card?
A: Yes, all non-residents riding in Oregon are required to take the online ATV Safety Course and carry an ATV Safety Education Card. They are exempt if they possess a card issued by another state or country.
And about your children..
beginning January 1, 2012, youth under 16 operating a Class I or III ATV (quads and motorcycles) will be required to attend a hands-on training course before riding on Oregon’s public lands
Btw guys, i figured out how to do the "challenge the course". Instead of reading all of the chapters and what not you can challenge the course and just take the 50 question test, and you must get an 80 percent or more to pass. If you fail you have to take it the normal way.
First, you cannot have an account already. If you do, call them up and have them delete it.
Second, click on the "more info" button under "challenge the course"
Third, click the "Start" button on that new page that opened telling you about challenge the course, this will make you start a new single user account and will give you the option of challenging the course once you log in after activation.
You cannot challenge the course if you have a family or group account.
Thats all, ride safe guys! You can print out a temp (good for 30 days) card until your permenant comes in the mail, its FREE to do, and is kinda fun in my opinion.