Help! 660R problem at high revs - Yamaha Raptor Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 95 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 06:17 PM Thread Starter

Help! 660R problem at high revs

Hi just recently bought a 660 raptor (2 days ago), having a huge problem with it.

When idle in neutral bike is fine and also seems ok when being revved at high revs.

The problem is as soon as I put the bike into gear and set off the bike more or less cuts out at around I would say roughly 2000 - 2500 revs and sputters until I change gear.

I can physically not get passed around 65mph and this is a big problem for me.

I had a quick look at the most common problems thread and just wondered if the quad would still have problems when in neutral revving up which my quad does not if it either of the limiters? Also I have not noticed any backfiring.

The quad does have a yoshimura end can only so unsure if it could cause anything significant like this.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to this sort of thing and all help would be appreciated thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 95 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 06:26 PM

https://www.raptorforum.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=60922

a lot of time was spent on this thread for these purposes, thanks QM!

BUT since I'm typing, the parking brake sensor would be my first guess; disconnect and rewire back to itself. DONE.
post #3 of 95 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 06:55 PM

I can physically not get passed around 65mph and this is a big problem for me.[/QUOTE]

**04 RAPTOR 660**
Wiseco 11:1
Megacycle X4
Barker head
+1 Ferreas
Monster Duals
39 FCRs
Dynatek FS
+4 axle
+2 up 1 a-arms
Custom 3 1/2" swinger
YFZ 450 shocks
YFZ 450 brakes

post #4 of 95 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 07:48 PM
Master of the Electron

THe bike tops out at 75 normally... 65 is pretty close. I think a little more detail in the symptoms are going to be necessary to debug this. Perhaps you are just jetted a little lean?