raptor wont start after wash. - Yamaha Raptor Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 03:09 AM Thread Starter

raptor wont start after wash.

hey guys, I'm new to the atv world & I got my first atv it's a 04 660 raptor. and the other day I washed it and now it won't start. the battery is dead from cranking it over. & my question is, what did/could I have gotten wet?
I've been searching this forum and thinking it could be water in the spark plug, water in airbox, water in exhaust, or the carb needs cleaned.
my question is, where is all this stuff located & how do i drain it? sorry to sound like a noob but I don't know a thing about these things. I don't have a truck so i can't take it to the shop at the moment.

I got it to start about 4 times (by jumping it) but it will just idle for about a min then cut off, then i got to jump it again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 06:42 AM
I am unique

I guess if you can jump start it, then it must start, so obviously the problem is the battery not being of sufficent charge...........
Keep it running as long as you can to get everything good and warm to dry out everything and drive it around. Put the battery on charge for several hours also........

686 three plugger with HV porting, 39 FCRS, Curtis Sparks exhaust, Dyna FS CDI
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 11:36 AM
Master of the Electron

I'm going to guess, in addition to what Willy has said, that you have some water in the spark plug boot and/or spark plug bore. After starting this water heats up and starts to evaporate, but condenses on the inside of the boot, shorting spark to case. Unplug and dry the boot and then the bore thorougly (a hair blow-dryer applied to the areas for several minutes can help) and keep trying.

'01 660 Raptor, Burgard +2+1 arms, YFZ Shocks, LSR anti-vibe, CTR pipe, jetted, K&N
'01 Polaris Scrambler 400, K&N