2008 Yamaha Raptor 350 making grinding noise . . . - Yamaha Raptor Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-13-2011, 10:05 AM Thread Starter

2008 Yamaha Raptor 350 making grinding noise . . .

Hello,

I have encountered an engine noise issue on my raptor. It just started within the last ride I was on two weeks ago. I am an industrial mechanic by trade. . . .so I am not at a complete loss with mechanical aptitude.I just figured I would research the issue a little before tearing into the matter.

So the noise I speak of occurs immediately at start up and while the engine is running. I can only explain the noise like ice being chopped in a blender or an ice maker in a home fridge cycling and dumping its ice in the tray.

It is rpm specific, meaning the noise follows the engine increase in rpm. The motor has had a top end tick while in 6th gear at mid to wide open throttle, yet this noise seems to be coming from the bottom end. The engine seems strong and I am not hearing a pronounced rod knock. The noise is an oscillating sound, which tells me it is related to the reciprocation of the motor.

Today, I am going to listen to the motor with my mechanics stethoscope and try to trace the root cause. It sounds pretty bad and I ended up riding it in from the trail in this condition. . . .so, I am a little leery of running it to much.

I should add, that my last ride involved a lot of mud, sand and water. . .so I am suspect of that as well. I changed the oil right before this ride and thought. . . now watch the engine go bad after the oil change!!!!!

I've seen info regarding starter or timing chain causing this noise. I have also notice that my tranny is having issues while trying to downshift and that is become more pronounced.

So I am making this post to see if anyone else has had any experiences with the engine noise I speak of?

Last edited by Need_more_throttle; 09-13-2011 at 10:12 AM. Reason: Forgot to add detail
Sponsored Links