K & N KN-145 Too Short - Yamaha Raptor Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

K & N KN-145 Too Short

Oops posted wrong section. Sorry about that I just wanted to warn others of this. I am guessing others have noticed but easy to miss.

I purchased 6- K & N KN-145 filters specified for 2019 Raptor 700 and all years actually.

These filters should be removed from the application or they should supply a shim to make it fit. They are clearly too short for this application.

These filters are not correct. They are .080" too short.

How can K & N sell these when they are incorrect. Dirty oil will be bypassing the filter.

Had I not been paying attention I could have easily never known and installed it.

Not wanting to throw them away or try returning them and since I am a machinist I just machined up a .080" aluminum spacer out of 6061 aluminum that just goes over the nubs on the cover and pushes the too short filters gasket firmly against the engine.

.080" is a huge gap and for them to be selling these saying they fit is awful. How many people have this junk in their engine slowing trashing it with recycled unfiltered oil.

They must sell thousands of them and I am certain people are installing these right out of the box.

Last edited by 2019YXZSSSE; 04-07-2019 at 09:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 05:36 PM
Lifetime VIP

Send a message via AIM to t web2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2019YXZSSSE View Post
Oops posted wrong section. Sorry about that I just wanted to warn others of this. I am guessing others have noticed but easy to miss.

I purchased 6- K & N KN-145 filters specified for 2019 Raptor 700 and all years actually.

These filters should be removed from the application or they should supply a shim to make it fit. They are clearly too short for this application.

These filters are not correct. They are .080" too short.