Raptor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, new to the forum. I just bought a 02 raptor 660 bored to 686, jetted, stage 2 hot cams, slip on exhaust, k&n air filter, durablue rear axle which is extended 3 inches and the front a arms are extented 3in. My problem is that yester day i got to really ride it for the first time. I checked all the fluids before I started riding after about 30-45 minutes of riding the temp light came on. i shut it down and checked the radiator and it was empty. i checked the oil and there was no anit-freeze in there. I then refilled it to look for a leek. After another short ride, I noiced that it was coming out the over flow hose on the over flow tank. Has anyone ever experianced this before or have any suggestions on where to start to look for a problem. It did not overheat after the first time.

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts
Hello, new to the forum. I just bought a 02 raptor 660 bored to 686, jetted, stage 2 hot cams, slip on exhaust, k&n air filter, durablue rear axle which is extended 3 inches and the front a arms are extented 3in. My problem is that yester day i got to really ride it for the first time. I checked all the fluids before I started riding after about 30-45 minutes of riding the temp light came on. i shut it down and checked the radiator and it was empty. i checked the oil and there was no anit-freeze in there. I then refilled it to look for a leek. After another short ride, I noiced that it was coming out the over flow hose on the over flow tank. Has anyone ever experianced this before or have any suggestions on where to start to look for a problem. It did not overheat after the first time.
Check for dirt under the little valve at the bottom of the rad cap or a leaking rad cap...........

·
Master of the Electron
15,059 Posts
Shawn, have you checked as Willy suggested? The other likelihood is a leaking head gasket - let's hope it's just a non-working fan or bad radiator cap.