Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My coolant temp light would turn on when I idled, but if I rode around it would go away. Today I took it out to work on full throttle takeoffs and wheelies. I finally decided to go past 1st gear and went all the way to 4th before breaking down for a turn. I came out of the turn into a hill. The second I landed my Raptor stopped moving and cut off. It attempts to crank but will no longer turn over. Im hoping its something simple but assuming the worst. Also, the overflow went into the coolant tank and is noticeably darker than when I started riding today. I was using everstone coolant from walmart and I was hearing backfiring ever since I mixed 87 & 93 gas. The battery is fine.

·
Registered
2,196 Posts
Probly just knocked a wire loose. It it getting spark? Is it getting fuel?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
287 Posts
The lean sensor mite of triggered but that usually is fixed by turning the key off than back on.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Im assuming its getting fuel. I was riding just fine the day before with the same gas. I tried reading a few more posts and they said try cranking in a high gear. When I did that it made a loud popping noise so I stopped trying. Im probably going to take it to a yamaha dealer in fear of messing up something major. Wish I could save the money tho. Lots of things are pointing towards the spark plug. I may ask for a tune up, but if thats not the issue then i just wasted money.

i forgot to mention there was a small amount of oil that I dont recall being on the engine block.

·
Super Moderator
8,222 Posts
Start simple. Replace the spark plug. How long did you let it idle before the temp light came on? After putting in a plug, if it does start, remove the radiator cap and watch to see if coolant is flowing.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6