Raptor Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding the vforce 700 for a few years now and just picked up a left over 06 anniversary raptor. I don't have but 5 min on the thing and have been reading about the front sprocket swap. The shop tells me I must change my chain if I swap the sprocket. Can someone help me out an confirm this. I have seen alot of chatter or people making the switch, but nothing about the chain. I will ride primarily sand with this one. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
The shop is full of shit go ahead and swap it out. I did it with about ten hours on it and there hasn't been one problem. It's worth it.

·
Registered
783 Posts
If its still stock and you ride sand, I would stick with the 14T. Even with the 3 mods, the 15t is a tad high for serious duning / hillclimbs. On dirt, it wouldnt be an issue but sand robs power.

You can swap out the front sprocket without swapping out the chain. Theres plenty of slack in the stock chain...You'll need a 36MM socket to get off the nut. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
Yeah sorry didn't see the sand thing I am primarily dirt, rock , and mud.

·
Registered
2,480 Posts
DrDsRaptor said:
The shop is full of shit go ahead and swap it out. I did it with about ten hours on it and there hasn't been one problem. It's worth it.
+1

The shop prolly wanted to sell you a chain...... :confused:

Welcome to the site..... 8)

·
Are Ya Jealous
393 Posts
If its still stock and you ride sand, I would stick with the 14T. Even with the 3 mods, the 15t is a tad high for serious duning / hillclimbs. On dirt, it wouldnt be an issue but sand robs power.

You can swap out the front sprocket without swapping out the chain. Theres plenty of slack in the stock chain...You'll need a 36MM socket to get off the nut. :thumbsup: