Raptor Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,I am a newbie here on this forum...and this is an absolutley awesome forum for alot of info for our quads. There are alot of you guys on here with alot of knowledge. I have done alot of research on my question on here over the last 3 hours,and to be honest,I am kinda confused what to go with I have read so much. I have a completley bone stock 2001 Raptor 660R that I bought new in 01 and am thinking about changing the front and rear sprockets along with a new chain,since they are 10 years old anyway(hasnt been rode alot)...and I figured if I was gonna replace them,I might change the gear ratio for more bottom end. I am running 20" RazR tires on the rear and am thinking about changing the sprockets to 12/42 combo instead of the stock 13/40,since my 2001 Raptor has a higher 1st gear ratio than the later models. I am not really concerned with max top speed near as much as alot of bottom end power and quickness. When I first bought this quad new back in 01,I was following a buddy of mine down the highway in his car,and I kept up with him at about 74-75 mph,thats all it had. My question is does anybody know exactly how much top end speed it will lose going to the 12/42 gearing with the 20" tire? If it would still run 65-70,I would be happy as long as is had mega amounts of bottom end with the gear change. I dont race it or anything,just a quad for fun,also we do have quite a bit of wooded area around where I live here in Missouri. The only other thing I may change is the stock foam air filter to a K&N replacement #6601. I thought about re-jetting,but I really dont think it needs it,although the plug is always black in it when I change it,it has always been that way since brand new,maybe running rich in factory form,what do ya guys think about this? The elevation I live at is about 900ft if that helps.....everything will remain bone stock,exhaust,engine,and everything beside