Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Raptor 250. I just bought my son an 08 Raptor 250 and not sure which exhaust to get. Which seem to be the most popular and do I have to rejet? Thanks

·
Registered
205 Posts
lexx is what my boys got

·
Registered
836 Posts
For absolute best performance, I would go with the 2 brothers because they are the most free flowing. But they are also very noisy..

The Lexx exhaust as 250raptorx2 pointed out is a very nice exhaust as well, and there are multiple baffle inserts to lower noise output or give you more free flow for more power.

FMF makes nice exhausts

HMF also..

you really can't go wrong with any of them. Pick the one you think looks the nicest and go for it!

·
Registered
836 Posts
After installing the exhaust, jetting is a must. Not only is it bad for the engine to not rejet after you installed a more free flowing exhaust on it, but you will also loose performance...

·
Registered
252 Posts
If you don't want to spend alot of money, you could:

Un-cork the stock exhaust (remove resonator)
Remove the air box lid
install Jet kit

If money is no object you could just stick with Yamaha products for it:

Get the GYT-R head-pipe and install the GYT-R exhaust
remove air box lid and install the GYT-R filter kit
install the GYT-R jet kit

FMF and CT Racing are some other exhaust I've seen

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
They all seem pretty much the same but there can be quite a difference, where in the power band you feel the power is the difference between them. For instance, my DRD is said to be a great bottom end exhaust and I can feel it, with its stepped pipe size header which starts out smaller than stock then gets bigger and also takes a longer path through the frame (like stock). The CT is more of a top end pipe because it has a larger header diameter and goes straight back from the head instead of routing through the frame.

·
Registered
836 Posts