Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I figured out a way to make the black plastics shine again, not factory perfect, but not too bad either. I'll share what I did and you can try yourself. I take no responsibility though! Ok, for starters, I work in the plastics industry so I have a bit of background on what to do. Most plastics are very pourus in nature. When you see haze in the finish, it's mostly because the pours are open and filled with some sort of contaminent. To make it shine, you need to smooth the surface so the pours are closed. The next thing is, the stock glossy finish was created under heat in the injection molding machine. Recreating that is very difficult, but you can get somewhere close to it, at least better the scratched up. The main thing is to take your time, plenty of it. Use the right tools and patience.

The tools:

Mother's PowerBall, small one
Mother's Cleaner/Wax - important, it has a very fine compound in it, this is what smoothes the surface and brings out the shine
1000,1500,2000 grit sanding papers
microfibre clothes for hand polishing etc