Raptor Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say I'm new so sorry if this has been asked already. I tired the search function and did not find what I wanted.

OK, so my question is this, what are the benefits of aftermarket A arms? I just want a generic answer. I don't want to go wider in the front. I'm from central IL and ride mostly trails so the narrower the better. I want to upgrade my front suspension and not sure to up grade to 450 shocks or go aftermarket. Do the A arms make much difference? Are the 450 shocks good enough? I like to think I'm a good rider but that depends who you are riding with. My friend has a stock '07 GTY-R Raptor with the piggy back shocks and I like it better than my stock '06.

Also, I'm new to the suspension game. I see a lot of people talking about settings and ride height. Is there a good link or book that steps you though setting up a quad? I converted to quads for bikes so I like motocross and jumping.

On another note, anyone from central IL? I normally hit Badlands, Rockport, Astoria, Cliffs, and Taylorville.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,885 Posts
usually you buy a arms to get a wider stance up front for better handling/longer travel/less tippy. If you do not want to go wider then forget about buying a-arms. There are ALOT! of guys on hear with yfz 450 shocks on their rappys and love them, I want a pair sometime soon too.... or you can go aftermarket, just how much cash you wanna throw out...

·
Registered
1,678 Posts
If you dont wanna go wider then there isnt much of a need for a arms. There are companies that make them so they are the same width as your stock ones but they dont really do much aside from look nicer and if its a good company then they are stronger.