Raptor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys, this is my first time really wrenching on a bike so please answer with some detail. I bought an 01 raptor 660 a month or so ago, I saw it, loved it and needed it. But man its bin nothing but a headache ever since. The bike needed some love, the previous owner didn't take care of it at all. Right when I got it I pulled apart the carbs to clean it to find out the choke plunger shot, ordered it right away and cleaned the carb, but didn't touch the airflow screws at this time. Cleaned it up put it together and it ran good. But I remembered I didn't change the old gas out so I drained the gas, and all fluids to get a schedule going. Left the carb empty for a while to focus on aesthetics. Finally got the bike looking like I wanted it too so I filled it up. Noticed the carb was leaking bad! It was pouring into the airbox, and down into the manifold, instantly turned off the petcock which needs replaced too"already ordered". I'm assuming it's the float that's making it leak. Anyways I pulled the carb apart again and this time I did a more thorough cleaning. Ripped it all apart. Got to the mixture screws and I slowly tightened one till it seated to see many turns were needed. Got to the other one and right away I knew something was wrong cause it wasnt moving how it should. Long story short the tip of the needle broke off, can see it in the pic. Any help or ideas on a fix will be great. I tried pressing it down, but it started to form a lip so I stopped. Sorry for the book. Thanks in advance to anyone who gives their 2 cents

·
I may be getting older, but I refuse to grow up!
11,748 Posts
I tried pressing it down, but it started to form a lip so I stopped. Sorry for the book. Thanks in advance to anyone who gives their 2 cents
Try some penetrating lube on both sides. Let it soak for about 1 hour, then push.