Raptor Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, sorry in advance for another tranny question. This is my first time tearing into a motor this deep, much less a tranny. The usual 2nd gear not working is what started this process. When I removed the clutch cover, I was surprised to notice the clutch pressure plate all gouged up as well as the inside of the cover. I also noticed 2 of the tabs on clutch rings that sit in the basket were broken off. I found 2-3 small metal pieces on this side, assuming it was from the clutch or gears. I continued on to split the case to inspect everything. Looking at the gears, they all looked fine. I started looking at the engagement dogs and the ones on the gear 2nd to the left on the output shaft are a little rounded. Is this a cause for the 2nd gear issue? Is this gear the 2nd or 4th gear? Do both have to be replaced or just the one with the rounded dogs? Any help would be great.

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts
Ok guys, sorry in advance for another tranny question. This is my first time tearing into a motor this deep, much less a tranny. The usual 2nd gear not working is what started this process. When I removed the clutch cover, I was surprised to notice the clutch pressure plate all gouged up as well as the inside of the cover. I also noticed 2 of the tabs on clutch rings that sit in the basket were broken off. I found 2-3 small metal pieces on this side, assuming it was from the clutch or gears. I continued on to split the case to inspect everything. Looking at the gears, they all looked fine. I started looking at the engagement dogs and the ones on the gear 2nd to the left on the output shaft are a little rounded. Is this a cause for the 2nd gear issue? Is this gear the 2nd or 4th gear? Do both have to be replaced or just the one with the rounded dogs? Any help would be great.