Raptor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So basically I blew up my engine due to lack of oil.. this was cause by a bad ring and I didnt check it frequently enough and now Im payin for it.. The engine had around 90hours on it...
The guy I took it too said that everything is destroyed... Crank,Piston,Cylinder & Valves

So heres my question to you expierenced people.. Whats the smartest and or cheapest route to go
Replace all the parts with stock OEM
Buy a big bore stroker kit

From what I found out so far.. Replacing everything with stock parts is going to be super expensive..

The bore and stroker kit is a 778cc kit and comes with new piston,cylinder, +5mm crank and gaskets for $910.. how reliable are these stroker bore kits?

The type of Riding I do is 80% trails with 20% MX track riding

Any help here would be appreciated because Im new to the ATV realm and these new Sport Quads..
Also a side note This atv is completely stock its an 07 Special Edition 700 and I dont even have the big three yet..
so what would u do in this situation?

-Thanks in advance

·
If it's too loud your too old
6,925 Posts
Buy a good used engine and start from there, cause if you ran it out of oil chances are the transmission is junk too! It all uses the same oil.

·
Super Moderator
17,058 Posts
If you ran the engine completely out of oil, you're going to need to replace just about every bearing in there too.

If you were happy with the atv before the problem in terms of power, I would buy a used engine that is stock and complete and simply swap it out. I would expect the rebuild you're facing to cost two or three times as much as a used stock engine will. Even if you rebuilt it you'd still be choking the power with a stock exhaust and intake, adding as much as a thousand dollars more to the build.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4