Raptor Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got this 2007 raptor 700 running fine now after fixing a vacuum leak and come to find out, it’s burning coolant. I took the head off and it passed a pressure test and is getting resurfaced now. The head gasket also didn’t look damaged at all. Any clue on what else could cause the leak? I don’t want to put it all back together and find it still leaking you know? I’m very new to working on these lol.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So I got this 2007 raptor 700 running fine now after fixing a vacuum leak and come to find out, it’s burning coolant. I took the head off and it passed a pressure test and is getting resurfaced now. The head gasket also didn’t look damaged at all. Any clue on what else could cause the leak? I don’t want to put it all back together and find it still leaking you know? I’m very new to working on these lol.

Attachments

·
Registered
920 Posts
Possible cylinder base gasket. What does the top of your piston look like, the intake side of your head looks like it has seen better days. If I had to guess I'd say that the pitting on your head could be a probable cause.

·
Registered
2022 Yamaha Raptor 700r
155 Posts
It could possibly be a small head gasket leak. You didn't say how much coolant is being burnt or how you found it to be burning coolant. Being as it's a 2007 I can imagine it's had a few hours in it. Are you planning on resurfacing the cylinder or just the head? Just make sure you have everything flat and sealed and you should be ok.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Alright so the machinist informed me the head is too warped so I have my problem now. Since it’s a 2007, they don’t make new heads and I can’t find a good deal on a used head. Do heads off a newer raptor fit this one? If so, do you guys know what year raptor head would work? I’ve been researching and can’t find too much on it.

·
Administrator
9,550 Posts