Raptor Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I've got one that has me completely stumped here. My 2003 Raptor 660 sat for a year and a half due to a fun trip to Afghanistan, now I can't get her started. So I'm dumb and didn't preserve the fuel tank first so thats my first oops. Now I've removed the carb, cleaned it twice, found 1 clogged jet (Pilot jet) and put it all back together, I've drained the fuel tank, flushed it with fresh gas purged the fuel line to ensure fresh fuel to the petcock, and still she won't start. I've pulled the spark plug, cleaned it off, and tried it again and still nothing. When I try several attempts to crank and then I check the plug, it is dry which means to me no fuel is getting to my spark plug. I've never done carb work before, but i'm positive i'm putting everything back together right and doing it right. One thing I wasn't sure of, is do I have to prime the carburetor in any way? The second time I pulled the carb there was some fuel in the float chamber but not alot.

If anybody has any other suggestions that I can try I'm all ears. I've replaced the battery as well and the engine is turning over just fine at a normal speed it just won't start. I will change my oil before I ride it, but old oil wouldn't keep it from starting would it? The level is fine I checked that. . .

·
Registered
8 Posts