Raptor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 bone stock Rappy 700, and I purchased a pro foam air filter intake setup. It is still shrink wrapped, but I was informed before I install it to purchase a EFI controller. I do not plan on adding any other mods such as full exhaust or any engine work. Before I get any further, is it worth it to buy a controller and install the intake? I plan on selling this Rappy in a year, but I wanted to install the filter setup instead of reselling it. I have zero mechanical knowledge when it comes to these things and to top it off, I am serving in the military in Germany. So I have to ask experts like yourself online for advice/info. Also do you recommend to run with the lid on or off? I will be trail riding, no sand, but a some mud. This is Germany, so it is not like Arkansas mudding woodlands, but enough to get you dirty. i prefer something plug and play with the premap like alba controller for me. Something to where a noob like myself can figure out without doing any engine long term damage. something setup for just the stock exhaust, but with a intake setup. Also I am looking for something under $100 used, if you know someone whom has one for sale. I tried educating mysef by looking at the controller with the number system or the mode button configuration and it looks complicated. Thanks for your help. I know that I should have done the research before I started clicking away on the net to buy things for my Rappy. Just got excited, that's all.:eek:

·
Registered
135 Posts
It is very important to install a fuel controller if your going do any mods at all. This allows you to take advantage of the modifications you are doing. Otherwise you will run lean (not the correct air/fuel ratio) and this could potentially cause damage.

Running with the lid off will help it breath. If your not doing any deep water crossings youll be fine.