Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Valley Boy
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to the sport atv world and am picking up a raptor 700 se tomorrow at lunch but just wanted to ask a quick question. It has full skid plates, spark arrestor was removed, K&N air filter, modified air box ( a hole in the airbox cover with screen covering it to let more air in), performance chip and 22" tires on the rear (can't remember which brand). It has relatively mild use and is in good shape. Seems to run fairly well and starts nice even when cold. The thing is, it has a performance chip that was bought off ebay and I am a car enthusiast and know that many of the crazy claims of making huge power are not always true and sometimes often hurt power. I asked the guy what the brand was but couldn't remember off the top of his head. All he said is it splices into the wires to the intake air sensor (if thats the right terminology for it). So it sounds like removing it won't be a major issue, just undoing a couple of wires. I have read a post on here that someone contacted the seller on ebay of one of these so call "performance chips" which claimed 25hp and the seller got back and said realistically it was 2.5hp. So my thing is, do I leave it on since its there or do I just remove it. Really it makes no difference to me if it goes in the garbage but if there is a potential for a few hp gain I would debate on leaving it. The guy did the air box modification the same time he did the "performance chip" and said he noticed a difference but didn't know which part made the gains. So I am looking to someones expertise on this as I have never owned a sports bike but I want it to run the best it can. Any insight is appreciated. Thought I would post a few pics up of it as well.

·
Registered
167 Posts