Raptor Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys! New to the forum here. i need a bit of advice from those that have a bit more time on quads and atvs than i do. my girlfriend and i are in the market for four wheelers. i live in New Hampshire and will do lots of north east trails, woods, and park riding. where i live, the elevation and woods can get pretty varied. my friends are telling to buy a 4wd atv. i want something sporty, and i love the feel of a sport quad. i am fairly new to riding. those that live in the area or have had both, or generally just know more than i do, what would you recommend on a basis of raptor 700r vs renegade 850. my brain is telling me to get the renegade because it has irs, ground clearance, winch, and 4wd. my heart is telling me to get the raptor because i love shifting, the price, riding fast, the lightweight feeling, sliding out the rear, and frankly, i have always wanted one. from those that have had either one: Do you miss your raptor when you ride a renegade? what are the limitations of a raptor terrain wise? what do you like better? what would you recommend? i dont mind working hard to get something somewhere. i just don't know the limitations of the raptor, and whether the rough terrain is going to destroy a raptor if i get one. how does it handle rough or technical terrain and mud? have those who have used both prefer either the renegade or raptor?

·
Registered
31 Posts
I think your riding style should decide what quad you buy. I personally wouldn't give up the speed and responsiveness of my Raptor for anything. To me, that exhilaration is why I ride.

·
Registered
773 Posts
I know the 4x4 of the renagade will out perform the raptor in mud and on super technical stuff, but that being said I've put mine through stuff that 4x4 guys do and with the right amount of finess the raptor can do it, I've ridden alot of Rocky/Boulder-y stuff and it we make it work.