Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi just recently bought a 660 raptor (2 days ago), having a huge problem with it.

When idle in neutral bike is fine and also seems ok when being revved at high revs.

The problem is as soon as I put the bike into gear and set off the bike more or less cuts out at around I would say roughly 2000 - 2500 revs and sputters until I change gear.

I can physically not get passed around 65mph and this is a big problem for me.

I had a quick look at the most common problems thread and just wondered if the quad would still have problems when in neutral revving up which my quad does not if it either of the limiters? Also I have not noticed any backfiring.

The quad does have a yoshimura end can only so unsure if it could cause anything significant like this.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to this sort of thing and all help would be appreciated thanks guys.

·
Registered
191 Posts
I can physically not get passed around 65mph and this is a big problem for me.[/QUOTE]

???

·
Master of the Electron
14,827 Posts
THe bike tops out at 75 normally... 65 is pretty close. I think a little more detail in the symptoms are going to be necessary to debug this. Perhaps you are just jetted a little lean?

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts
Give us a list of your mods and jetting specs and we can tell you if you are close to where it should be..............
I think it is jetting related...........

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Unsure

I don't think I was clear enough, what I mean is the quad literally dies at high revs and then comes back on and off jerking the bike as it does so, it may be close to topping out at 75 if thats what the top speed is on these things but to physically get there I have to change gear at around 2500rpm or the power just disappears and the bike sputters as the bikes revs go up and down nearing this level.