Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have 2010 stock raptor, im new to the world of atv so i dont know what and how to do it.
i want to stiff my rear shock, does the origian shocks have more then one adjustment? beacuse i saw a nut with H and S on the gas tank of the shocks, is there any other adjustment but this one?

if i want to harden my shock i need to twist the nut while the rear wheels are in the air or on the ground? thankyou.

·
A-10 Crew Chief
1,143 Posts
I just used my hands. Loosen the first lock ring on top of the spring and leave the bottom one tight. I used a brass puch and a hammer on the teeth of the lock ring to loosen/tighten it. Grab the spring with both hands, and twist clockwise. With the tension from the spring, it will turn the lock ring with it increasing you preload. When you are done, spin down the second lock ring, and lock it tight with the punch! Otherwise www.tqsats.com has a spanner wrench under their tools section that works. My way is free though. :D

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
There is really no set 'right way'. You have to set up the preload for what your weight is with gear on. Preload is the threaded collar on the shock. Loosen it to lower ride height, tighten it to increase ride height.

·
2008 SMX Series Champion HO
2,679 Posts
youtube, i'd go outside and do mine but's it's pouring rain.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
:mad: got really confused now, heres a picture of my front shock, which one of the rings do i need to turn and how?

and secondley, i can i adjust my rear shock? it is blocked from evrey direction, here are pictures from the right and left sides, how can i get to it?

right (pipe blocking)

left, gas tank blocking

anyone? :eek:

·
Registered
305 Posts
:mad: got really confused now, heres a picture of my front shock, which one of the rings do i need to turn and how?