Raptor Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK please bear with me here, Im completely new to these atvs so I dont know alot of the specifics. I am much more experienced at building larger automotive engines. I have only fiddled with a few of my friends atvs and bikes here and there... this 2003 660R is the first atv I have owned myself. I have done some reading, but I am on 56k modem so I have not been able to download the engine manual yet, which is something I really need to do... in fact I am going to refrain from asking a lot of questions I have because I know they will be answered best by the manual and not waste time on my slow internet. Right off I am mainly trying to figure out everything that is missing and wrong with my atv. My goal is to get it running good and reliable, and probably leave it alone after that. It already has a few upgrades that should make it plenty enough of a ride for my skill level. A pic of the ride in question:

Now to the details... The atv came without carbs, so I bought a set of clean used carbs and mounted them in place to see how it all plumbs up. I cant seem to find the hoses that go to two different ports on the carbs, heres a pic to help:

Also right now the airbox is missing its top half, so Im wondering if I can ditch the whole box and the intake boots and just go with K$N filter right on the carbs?

It appears I am missing the lever for the choke cable that mounts on the bottom of the controls on the left handle. I doesnt look like anything is broken or snapped off, I believe it was just removed and never reinstalled... does it mount using the bolt (also as a pivot point)?

I found that the PO hacked up the wiring harness up by the front of the atv and I found a few plugs left hanging. I would really appreciate it if someone could help me ID these wires... more pics to help:

Brown wire and red wire going to something... got cut.