Raptor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to the raptor world as well as this forum. Not new to the world of off roaders (have other bikes).
Buying used, and of course I'm on a budget. I am huge on maintnance and that will be the first thing I try to get a "feel" for when looking at used raptors (2001-04 660's). I know I should obviously watch for high abuse and obvious things like that, but I wanted to ask all you raptor guys exactly what I should look for...I know just about every machine I have owned has its "flaws". I have done a good amount of reading on this forum and know so far that if I buy an 01 I really need to watch out for the tranny. I'm hoping maybe you guys can help me with exactly what I should be "feeling" for when it comes to that. I know I should shift it through the gears and feel for anything wierd while riding (as well as reverse), but anything beyond that?
I have many different 01-04 raptor 660's I'm wanting to go look at as soon as I get time, maybe you guys wanna check a few out? I'm really hoping for a stock one but not completely set on it.

This 04 is one up on the top of my list, although price is just outa range
http://medford.craigslist.org/mcy/2142283717.html
Looks like a very low hour bike according to the "boot wear spot" above the pegs and overall condition

This is an 01 (which I am scared to death to buy an 01 after reading here)
but its the color I want, and I could get it for 2K which I really like...
http://roseburg.craigslist.org/mcy/2129052281.html

This is an 04, I like the year and even the price, but it doesn't really look the best of taken care of, but hey who knows pictures suck
http://salem.craigslist.org/mcy/2165526775.html

I have about 15 others, most are 01 raptors...so, help me out, if I buy an 01 what should I really watch for? Should I pay the extra $500 for an 02-newer even if it seems to have more hours than some of the 2001's?