Raptor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone; just curious has anyone felt the need to go to a larger fuel injector. I'm new to fuel injection but it seems like there is only so much fuel you can get through a stock injector. I've seen them on GEisick website. Just wondering if anyone has tried one and had luck. I'm currently running my pcIII as rich as it will go on top end and i think it still needs more fuel.

·
Premium Member
5,119 Posts
I have been doing some re search into this as there has been a lot of debate about injector size needed for a givin HP level.

The stock injector is 425 cc min @ 45 psi at 80% duty cycle

For an example if you had 73 RWHP and a brake specific fuel consumtiom of 0.45 (most 780's & 804's are at 0.45 to.050) and your max duty cycle you would want injector to see is 80% (rule of thumb)
then you would need a 424 cc min injector.

There is some fudge room as I know of a few 80 RWHP 700R's running the stock injector, but to do it by the book, anyone planning on exceeding 70 RWHP should consider a 550cc min @ 45 psi performance injector like what Geisick is selling.
Those will take you to 94 HP safely, again based on my research.

Hope this helps some of you make an informed decsion on if you need to upgrade your injector or not.

on edit, I should add that the AF ratio of the fuel map will have an effect on how close you are to your 80% duty cycle IE: if your at 59 or 60 RWHP and have a fat map, your hitting duty cycle sooner than a higher HP Machine and leaving power on the table IMHO.

Randy

·
Registered
511 Posts
RaptorRandy27 said:
I have been doing some re search into this as there has been a lot of debate about injector size needed for a givin HP level.

The stock injector is 425 cc min @ 45 psi at 80% duty cycle