Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm glad I found this awesome raptor forum and I'm very excited to share my new project.

its a 2002 Raptor 660r thats pretty close to a running basketcase

I'm going to try to build it into a very nice trail/ amateur drag race bike spending as little money as possible..... I'm a broke college student with another toy... a 1970 Chevy 1/2 ton that has been with me ever since i was 16 which now has a 383 stroker and some other go fast stuff..

how I ended up with the is a long story .....

I sold my 2003 honda recon in august of 2010... looking to buy a LTZ 400.... I had driven one and fallen in love with it.....

by January I had not found a LTZ yet and I found out that a guy down the road was selling a banshee. I had always kinda liked banshees because they were so different. So I went and looked at it and eventually bought it for $1600. I drove it for a while and fixed it up piece by piece until I had a sorta nice bike, and after doing some racing and loosing to a GYTR 700 Raptor by only a couple of feet I tore into the motor and rebuilt it and got the cylinders dune-ported. It never really ran like I wanted it to though, and I still don't know what was wrong with it. After the rebuild I think it had less power. I raced my buddy's YFZ (which was stock with a slip-on) many times and always lost. The banshee was comfortable to ride but it totally sucked on the trails and the clutch and throttle needed super human muscles to work. Imagine my friends riding trails behind a smoking, loud two-stroke banshee burning a mix of Yamaha 2R and avgas. :D