Raptor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I'm new to quads, but fairly mechanical and understand general principles of repair and how they work. I'm not looking to break land speed records but I do like to go fast.

Long story short, I just bought a used 2001 Raptor 660 and it needs a new top end. It was ran without oil for unknown amount of time. The cylinder head was journals were basically melted and chewed up along with the cam.

So I purchased a cylinder head assembly from Partzilla.
1st question: do I need to have the cylinder head machined to put in new valves and springs in?
2nd question: is there anywhere to find a standard bore cylinder or should I just have the original one bored out?

I'm not looking to do 100mph on this thing. I'm just a weekend trail rider in Michigan.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
The new head is ready to go, just assemble and install.
As for the cylinder, there are a few options, I'll let others recommend which brand, but stock 660, or bored to 686 are both fine.
Stay at or under 11 to 1 compression(piston) if you want to run pump gas, 91-93 octane.
Stock is 10.1, and the 11.1 will give you a little more low rpm power.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks alot.

I have a little anxiety going forward. Never done this before. I am torn on whether or not I want to be basically stock or suped up. I dont have a endless cash supply. I dont want to have to change a million parts just to get it running.

If I change to a big bore cylinder. Will I have to change the Crankshaft.

Would I need new carbs or just jets?
Recommendations on cam, piston, valves, rockers.

I was definitely blinded by excitement for the purchase. And basically got screwed.

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
If the stock crank is ok, there is no need to replace it.
If you have to buy a cylinder and piston, might as well go to 686cc and 11.1 piston.