Raptor Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I installed a GYT-R clutch on my '01. I've never done one on a quad before, so I'm not sure if this is normal. I had trouble when I put the case on getting the pull rod to engage with the arm that connects the clutch cable to the case, so I took the screw out, pulled the arm out and finally got it to engage. My problem is that the clutch cable is at near max adjustment and its SO stiff that it almost hurts to pull the clutch lever in. It also seems to stay slightly engaged with the lever pulled in. I can put it in neutral and push it like it was nothing, i put it in gear, pull the clutch in and roll it, but it takes much more pushing to get it moving. I cant start it b/c I still have the carbs, air box, and sub frame apart. Can I attribute the stiffness to the new springs? Am I missing something? Any suggestions appreciated..

·
Registered
32 Posts
go here and look at the diagram

http://www.bikebandit.com/partsbandit/showschematic~dept_id~851357.asp

pull part number 26 of part number 20. and adjust it from there. that probably needs to be adjusted somewhere in the middle so that you have leeway to adjust the cable its self. springs shouldnt make the lever super hard to pull if there adjusted to spec which was like what 6 foot lbs? do you have them adjusted right? make sure you go easy on the break in time, let the clutch go through a few heat cycles to ensure it has a good breakin time. then go easy on it for awhile after break in. also makesure you break it in with a approved wet clutch oil to ensure you dont glaze the clutch over.

·
Registered
32 Posts
heres a copy and paste

I can swap a clutch on a street bike in 30 mins tops.

Print out this schemtic, it will help for reference.

http://www.bikebandit.com/partsbandit/showschematic~dept_id~851357.asp