Raptor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys im new to yamaha I use to ride a kfx 700 back in the day but sold it a few years back but now i got a REALLY good deal on a 660 raptor. Its got the extended Axle Dura Blue i think skid plates jet kit Alien Pipe plus more I got it for 200 bucks with title in hand older guy said he dont need it anymore but its been sitting for about a year. apparently the cam broke and destroyed the valve cover i was hopeing someone could tell me how someone could manage that but i have a new hot cam ready to put back in it ill try to have some pictures of it up soon but if anyone has any usefull information to give me before i invest some money in it please speak up :D

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts
Whats up guys im new to yamaha I use to ride a kfx 700 back in the day but sold it a few years back but now i got a REALLY good deal on a 660 raptor. Its got the extended Axle Dura Blue i think skid plates jet kit Alien Pipe plus more I got it for 200 bucks with title in hand older guy said he dont need it anymore but its been sitting for about a year. apparently the cam broke and destroyed the valve cover i was hopeing someone could tell me how someone could manage that but i have a new hot cam ready to put back in it ill try to have some pictures of it up soon but if anyone has any usefull information to give me before i invest some money in it please speak up :D
If the valve cover is as you say, is totally destroyed, you need to buy a head and cover assembly...........

·
Master of the Electron
15,074 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Good deal on the Rappy, even though you have a bit more work ahead of you.

The head and cover are matched parts - the cam bearing surface is line bored in the assembled pieces at the factory and are not re-borable... so, if the cover is damaged beyond repair, you are going to need a new (or used) head and cover matching set.

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts