Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys im new to the sport quad world. Im coming from a 4x4 ATV and super excited to say i've narrowed my search down to yamaha. Its time for you guys to convince me to go with the 700 over the yfz 450. Here is what it will be used for

occasional dunes trips, but not often.
riding the trails around my house, out on the farm, in the woods around my place.
I love speed and drive a diesel so power is AWESOME!

But i can't decide on a yfz 450 for a 700 raptor. The 450 wouldnt be EFI though because i can't afford that, HELP ME DECIDE!

·
Premium Member
3,478 Posts
The new YFZ450Rs are fuel injected now. The Raptor 700 is good all around, you won't be disappointed...the torque is awesome down low compared to a 450.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The new YFZ450Rs are fuel injected now. The Raptor 700 is good all around, you won't be disappointed...the torque is awesome down low compared to a 450.
I know the new ones are, and i can't afford them. Okay let me re phrase that i dont want to spend that much haha..

Is a 07' Raptor 700 a better quad than a 07' YFZ 450? I will be putting an exhaust and tune on the quad and thats all, or if i went with the 450 i would jet and pipe it

·
Registered
638 Posts
Well I came from the 450 world and now have the Raptor. Here is the difference between the 2 because they are equally as fast. You can lug the raptor around in any gear, crack the gas and feel the massive torque. It revs a bit slower then a 450 (until you get a high comp piston, pipe, intake and fuel controller of course), but the power is always there and should be a good bike to ride with your friends who have 4x4's. The 450 actually feels faster because the engine revs up so quickly. The downside is, you can't lug them around at low speeds so easy and they simply always want to go fast. When I had my 450, and my friends had 4x4's, I was clutching it all the time.