Raptor Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, recently joined this forum as I found myself reading loads of threads on here trying to get as much knowledge as I can on Raptors. This is my 1st quad so some may think I'm a bit a of turnip for going something so big. I have learnt the clutch driving on my own and I'm still learning but absolutely loving the quad life! Just want to make sure I'm maintaining it properly to keep it in good condition! So any advice on what needs to be done and when would it be hugely appreciated! I'm using it on road use only. Was also wondering if lowering it would make it feel smoother for road use? Many thanks people !

·
Registered
224 Posts
Being from the US I can’t comment on the road use, but I’m sure some of our European friends will have some input.
As for the first quad, congrats. People said the same thing when I bought my MT09 as first street bike, but it’s been amazing. 6 months into it I was ripping huge wheelies. It never felt like too much. I think if you respect your machine and your ability to ride you’ll be fine.

It’s interesting, people say motorcycles aren’t actually dangerous, but it’s the people around you that kill you, although that’s simply not true. Statistically 80% of motorcycle accidents are self inflicted from the riders pushing themselves too hard.

Stay safe. Don’t push your limits on the road. Welcome to the forum.

·
I may be getting older, but I refuse to grow up!
10,442 Posts
Oil changes, chain adjustment, clutch adjustment are normal and easy things to do with the help of the manual. A little more technical is a valve adjustment but not hard with a few extra tools.
You can get a free manual download from Morphrider, just send him your email.

·
Super Moderator
7,751 Posts
Welcome to the Forum Danny. Like Dez stated, send me a pm with a valid email and I can send over a service manual if you would like. Free of charge even.

·
Registered
21 Posts