Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I picked up a used 700 last summer. It has a Power Commander, intake, and HMF slip-on exhaust on it. It's fast enough for me but a buddy just picked up a yfz 450 and got his all hopped up so it's pretty quick now. What else can I do to mine that isn't real extensive? Sorry for the newbie question like I said I'm new to the whole racing scene, been around 4 wheelers all my life, just not these. Mostly sand riding and drag racing is what I use it for.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
555 Posts
Put some compression in it with a 11:5.1 TQS piston and a HotCam 2 for more low/mid or the Hotcam 3 for more mid/top end power. That'll run you about $350 with a used cam. Next would be a +3 TB.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Put some compression in it with a 11:5.1 TQS piston and a HotCam 2 for more low/mid or the Hotcam 3 for more mid/top end power. That'll run you about $350 with a used cam. Next would be a +3 TB.
Thank you for the reply. Would you strongly recommend doing the piston as well? I have heard a couple people didn't notice the loss of low end power with the addition of a cam, would the piston benefit me that much?

Thanks again

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What about duals? What intake do you have? What kind of quad/s did you have before the Raptor?
I wouldn't mind duals, not sure if I want to spend that much when it already has a slip on. I believe it has a K&N intake. I just had utility ATV's before this one. A couple Kawasaki Prairies...this is a whole different animal haha.

·
Registered
7,128 Posts
It is amazing how much different utility quads are. The main "Big 3" are Barker/DMC/DASA/Monster Duals, FCI Intake, and PC5 or PCIII. Once you start modding, you will want more and more and more parts....

·
If you don't wreck, you don't ride
4,451 Posts