Raptor Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am new to riding and to atv's so i need a few newbie questions answered. The two questions I have are about riding. What is the best way to get through whoops? I went down a long stretch of them and tired out half way through. I hear you just kind of mash it and find the sweet spot but damn I was whooped and the dirt bike I was riding with just took off. Any suggestions? The other is making a high speed turn on a trail. What is the best way to make a turn without rolling it etc. Weight distribution? gassing it to slide ass end around?

I just bought the 700 about a month and a half ago so I am getting comfortable. I am riding mostly desert trails and mountains. I have not tried out sand yet. I live in Vegas so anyone who can suggest some great close by one daqy rides and trails would be appreciated.

I just bought HMF sport system with PC3 and pro flow intake. Still waiting on the pipes they are about another two weeks away. The color I ordered made it a custom.

Thanks for the newbie help. Any other driving tips would be great. I want to make sure I am not learing bad habbits.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
not to fimilar with the woops but if your gassing and sliding around cornners and not wrecking then you doing somthing right. just keep your ass as far on the inside as you can, and if you feel t starting to bite then steer into it so you dont flip. just keep practicing and you figure out the weight distribution thing. welcome to the site, you will learn alot from these guys if you spend the time reading. WARNING this site is addictive! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
There are two "philosophies" when it comes to whoops that I'm aware of: gas it and let the suspension absorb the bumps or try to jump every second or third one.
Both take practice to pull off successfully and either can leave you feeling somewhat whooped afterwards.