Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the raptor and just read through the whole oil change thread but still have a question. I just changed the starter clutch and put in fresh oil, ran it around the yard a little and let it get nice and warm and drained it again, just wanted to make sure it was flushed good, especially since I just acquired the bike needing a starter clutch. I know the engine and tranny oil are one in the same but when I pulled the plug on the tank nice clean oil came out just as I suspected, but when I pulled the lower plug only small amounts of black oil dribbled out. Why is this, looks like I should have seen more oil or at least cleaner oil out the bottom hole????

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
488 Posts
sounds like a plugged hole. you could have a plugged screan in the bottem on the oil tank, or the screan in the middle of the cases could be plugged from the one way shavings.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. Oh BOY! I have decided now that it was definetely not circulating the oil, the oil filter also did not yield any fresh looking oil. It is getting it out of the tank though because I pulled the line off down by the lower drain that comes from the tank and got fresh oil there, must be inside, possibly at the pump pick-up? I'm not sure of the inner workings but that seems logical. I didn't run it much, a couple times around the yard and then let it idle until the fan cycled, but ANY is too much for me! Now I'm leary of this power plant, this is turning into a MONSTER project! Any suggestions on what or where to look next and what kind of damage I can expect from this? Wasn't making any funny noises.....yet!

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
I'd suggest you buy or download the factory service manaul, it has a flow diagram for the oil path.