Raptor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work for a machinery manufacturer. I'm an electrical engineer but also get involved in some mechanical stuff. Anyway, I was looking through my company's engineering standards book and saw the write up on torque specs for various size fasteners as well as correction factors for when anti-sieze or other type of lubricant is on the threads. As you can imagine, the oil drain plugs will have oil on them, so will the threads in the crank case and the catch tank. So, when you crank that thing to 17 ft/lbs like it says, you are actually putting upwards of 34 ft/lbs on it. So no wonder the damn threads are being ripped out. The correction factor is approximately 0.5. I will post the document from my work in pdf (if I can!) It's a good reference to have. So I would say the proper setting on your torque wrench for any lubed bolt/thread connection is half of what it says in the book.

Marcel

see below for two more spec sheets

Attachments

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Re: Oil Plug stripping - some insight as to why it's happened.

Good lookin out. I'm coming up on my first oil change, this will be very helpful.

·
Registered
902 Posts
Re: Oil Plug stripping - some insight as to why it's happened.

Good info! Thanks. . .

Looking forward to seeing the .pdf! I could probably use that for work too!

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
bolt torque references, metric and SAE (imperial), keep in mind, those figures for Max Torque is when you are bolting two surfaces together and are basically torquing to yield. This is what you would set your torque wrench to if you wanted to tighten that much. It is a guide, not a hard fast rule. For some bolted joints, you don't necessarily want to tighten that much, ie...something like a split clamp on handlebars or something....if you tighten to yield, you'll probably break the clamp before you stretch and break the bolt.

Attachments

·
Registered