Raptor Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, first post here :). I have an 06 700 se, purchased it a few months ago so I am new to the awesome world of raptors! I have maybe 20hrs of riding on it. All stock except for K&N air filter. I just noticed that when trail riding (mostly first gear, relatively low rpm's) temp light came on, along with the fan. Stopped and let it cool off. Both the fan and light came on again later that day, and it wasn't being driven hard. Air temp outside was maybe 15 deg C, no mud in the rad or anything. Once at home I drained the coolant, flushed with fresh water, cleaned rad really well and vacuum filled the system. This held properly so I added fluid. Let it idle for maybe 15-20 min and the temp light/fan came back on. I have a temp gun and the rad and hoses were 220 deg's +. Coolant level in ressy dropped at first to low level then as it heated up came back to full. I’m not losing any coolant out of the ressy or water pump weep tube as far as I can see. oil level is perfect and the oil is clean. no idle sputters or engine noises out of ordinary, exhaust is normal. Fan seems to come on at the right time as well, well before the temp light does.

Any Ideas as to why it runs so hot/heats up so quick?

Thank you so much!

·
Premium Member
4,439 Posts
I would say that KnN aint helping. Its getting more air so it needs more fuel. Check the spark plug. If it white, your lean if its brown, your ok and if its black, your rich. Being lean will make it run hotter. So not good.

Do you run with or without the air box lid on?

Do you have a fuel controller on it?

Could be the water pump going. I could see that option if it wouldent re-circulate the coolant properly.

First check the spark plug following this pic:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·