Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought 03 660r. I'm a newbie about these things.
I noticed that neutral indicator light is always on, doesn't matter on which gear it is.
Anyone have idea what might be wrong, what should i check?
Thanks.

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
down by the shifter there are 2 wires that attach to the side of the case. the green wire with white stripe is your reverse sensor and the other wire is the neutral sensor, check that the connection isn't broken, if its intact, clean the connection and re-install the wire. Should fix it.

·
Registered
343 Posts
i had the same problem a few weeks back. following sto's advice i cleaned that connection along with checking the connections on my cdi due to removing rear fender. i did it all at the same time so not sure what corrected it but back to normal.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
firstraptor said:
Neutral switch stuck?
Put it in gear and test for continuity thru the switch.
If you don't have a meter you might try unscrewing it from the case and seeing if the ball in the end moves in and out.
When i disconnected the wire from the switch the indicator light goes off. The ball on the end of the switch can be hardly pressed in.
I will try to replace that switch maybe.

·
Registered
39 Posts
My neutral light works when it wants to. If it is in N but no light i have to pull the clutch in, but if the light is on i can crank it up. I think it may be that the starter is going out. It will make some bad noise. Is it bad idea to keep that bad starter in there till it just blows up?

·
Registered
1,726 Posts