Raptor Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Im new to Raptor Forum and new the Raptors in general. I recently bought a brand new 2007 Yamaha Raptor 700R SE and am looking into getting some upgrades. Not nessessarily performance upgrades, but cosmetic uprgrades. At least just for now. I've already purchased Nerf Bars, New Front Bumper, New Grab Bar, etc etc, but now im looking into an Exhaust. After looking around and researching, i came across the HMF Competition Series exhaust and had to have it. I just got it in the mail yesterday. Now as i was online researching, i came across discussions of Rejetting and Remapping. At the time, i had no idea what either was, but i soon learned from others. Again, im not really worried about HP gains, moreso than looks and sound for now. Plus, im on a budget.

Now to my point of this thread. Sorry if this thread has been done before. If so, i apologize ahead of time. Im totally new to all this and from what ive read, you all seem like a nice bunch of people. .

After reading about people saying you need to get a new programmer or something like that, i decided to call up my yamaha service company and a few others and ask them about it. All of them had similar answers. I shouldnt have to do anything extra to my quad if all it is is a slip on exhaust. They all said anything more than that, then i will have to reprogram. They all said i should be fine. They said the "engine" will forgive for something small like a new slip on, but anything more than that i will have to remap, or something like that.

So id like to get some more advice since ive seen some different comments online about it. The reason im posting is because i am worried it will hurt my quad or something. i read a few places that it can hurt the engine, but its a mixed bag out there.