Raptor Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi , new to the forum . Absolutly brilliant on here , very helpfull ppl.
My situation is im a complete noob. But for sum reason want a quad really bad . Lol. Lukd through loads, narrowed it dwn to 2 . Yamaha 450/700. I live in uk, I will be using the bike for long country rides on weekends only
. Taking into consideration the maintenance and evrything ( because i dont know anything about these machines mehanically ) which one wud be best suited for me . .I.e Cost of running. Maintenance . General stuff . And which one wud be better for road
Iv got bout 3700 budget ..
Thankyou in advance
Chad

·
Registered
167 Posts
I don't know if you can get a 700 raptor for that but if you can that would be the machine it has a lot of torque so you do not need to shift near as often plus it has reverse so you can back out of a parking spot if you take it to the store and it is a lower reving motor so rebuilts won't be as often. The aftermarket is great with both machines and they both have proven reliable packages that have great performance gains and reliability is good too. But in the end unless you are into Mx or any other extreme racing I think the raptor is a better all around bike.

·
Registered
31 Posts
I really dont understand why people want to ride these on the street. With a solid rear axle, the two rear tires fight each other on the turns. I live in an area with literally hundreds of miles of gravel roads. Sliding around the corners is absolute heaven. I HATE it when I have to run a section of paved road. If I had to deal with alot of pavement, there are many other things I would rather be riding... think supermotard (and that is just the beginning of a long list of fun rides).

·
Registered
9 Posts
defiantely go for the raptor 700, i'm from UK also, scotland to be exact..