Raptor Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im kind of new to the sport quad world. I have a Grizzly 600 which I piurchased new in 2000. It has always been unimpressive. I recently picked up a Kawasaki KFX 700. That thing is awesome.

Somebody always has to come out of the woodwork and ruin it for me. A neighbor stopped by and said his Raptor 700 is 100 lbs lighter and would destroy my KFX. I looked it up and found the raptor is indeed much lighter. I guess it only stands to reason that the raptor would rule the roost so to speak.

I was so intrigued with the thought that the raptor could be that much better than my beloved KFX that I purchased a very clean 660 raptor. Now that I have rejetted it to better match the modifications, its a BEAST!

Another neighbor stops by and says his Suzuki 700 King quad would destroy both the KFX and the Raptor. I also hear the the YZF450 is faster than the big bore raptors.

There is always somebody faster. I understand this. I am just curious if the YZF450 or the King Quad are really faster. Any input on this?

·
Registered
6,002 Posts
Stock for stock they are all about the same with the YFZ having the edge(Raptor 660-700,YFZ) but with intake exhaust and jet kit(fuel controller for the 700) the raptors will beat up on the 450s. King Quad :rofl: not a chance but rider makers a big difference to. My old DS650 could beat many quads that it should not beat just because of the rider.

·
Premium Member
3,166 Posts
your raptor should walk all over that king quad and if he beats you just ask for a race with some corners.

·
Registered
32 Posts
A stock 660 raptor isn't verry impressive at all, but once you start modifying it you will be verry impressed. first thing probably to do is full exhaust intake mods and jet kit.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·