Raptor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK so I figure out my clutch is slipping after working on the adjustment I found out it is near the end of the adjustment. I was able to get more grip from the clutch but when it get hot it start to slip again. I'm think I need to redo my clutch my questions are :
1. what kind of clutch should I buy ? (brand name, I saw this DP brand on Amazon is it good ?)
2. is there any special adjustment I need to do ? (meaning anything that without the professional I will not be able to accomplish)
3. I have some mechanics skills but I'm not a pro will that be too hard to replace by myself ?
4. do I need to buy a new pressure plate ? what can happen to it ? it is need to be replace when broke only right ??

Thank you all

·
Registered
201 Posts
Mine is nearing the end as well. I really didn't notice until I rode my wife's raptor and saw hot much sooner her clutch grabbed. I had to adjust the actual clutch adjustment all the way in and adjust my lever 3/4 way out to get it right. I think you will need the friction plates, steel plates, and springs. Should cost you around $100 if you DIY.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Has anyone used Driven Industries clutches? Most of the reviews seem good and they claim 10% stronger springs and cork style friction disks. They have them on eBay for $25+shipping (around $70 retail). I think I will buy one and try it out.

·
Registered
612 Posts
I got a Tusk clutch kit from Rocky Mountain ATV for $41. I got one for a 07 YZ450F to get rid of the half fiber thats in the Raptor clutch.

·
From The Stix 2 Da Brix
11,616 Posts
That's what I was gonna say throw away the half disc and replace it with a full disc. That's the weak part of the clutch. Also add stiffer/HD springs.

·
Registered
201 Posts