Raptor Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks. I’m new to the forum. I’d like to take the time to give a shout out to the folks that make all of this possible. Thanks for your efforts !!

I am a hobbyist restorer. I take neglected machines(this raptor is my second project) ((first was a 01 Suzuki lt 500f))and restore them to their former glory. It’s a hell of an expensive hobby BUT what else am I supposed to do with all my tools ??

All that said, this raptor,
2003 (technically) was made 10th month 03 so I think that makes it a 04 ...? According to my local parts dealer anyway.
660 with the 686 big bore kit installed.
I paid $315 for a rolling chassis a box of parts a motor with some shifting, clutch and other issues (I have not removed top end yet to check condition of the bore)

previous owner, (heavy duty mechanic)((in my experience never seem to do all that well with small engines)) told me it was all there just needed to be put together, he said he replaced shift detente because of the shifting problems he experienced, it was blowing head gaskets so he installed arp studs( has yet to be run with those installed) and he installed a Hinson clutch.

now I’m not 100% sure but I think the detent is messed up some how, just didn’t seem to cycle properly to me. However it does look new. So any insight on improper install signs would be greatly appreciated. 2nd head gaskets.... well when I get a chance I will open it up but until I fix the clutch issue I can’t test his work...?? 3rd and here the kicker...