Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I ride at high speeds and my handlebars are always jerking around which is highly annoying.
What is a good brand of steering stablilizer I can get to stop it?

~2008 Raptor 700 SE

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
All the stick styles work well, but tend to have short o-ring life because the exposed rod that travels in and out gets covered in dirt, mud, grit that builds up against the sealing o-ring, some of it making it through.
If you get a stick style, make sure it's rebuildable.
I have no experience with Precision or Elka($500-$600).
I have read and heard good things about CCP for years, and just bought one on ebay today, $199, $210 after tax.
The CCP are also cheap and easy to rebuild, an o-ring and oil.
For $60 more than the stick style, I'm trying one out.

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
Make sure your suspension sag(front and rear) are correct for your weight, and that the front end is aligned right.
If not, a dampner will only be a bandaid, and it still won't handle as well as it should.

·
I may be getting older, but I refuse to grow up!
11,441 Posts
I've also used the CCP with good success and also bought one for the wife's bike.

Reactions: Sixpack577

·
Super Moderator
8,220 Posts
Adjust your suspension. Mess around with the top clickers on the front ones. I adjusted mine even more at the sand dunes because of the jerking around feeling. 3 clicks in from fully extended and going at speed I do not feel any jarring in the bars. Surprised me actually..l

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Adjust your suspension. Mess around with the top clickers on the front ones. I adjusted mine even more at the sand dunes because of the jerking around feeling. 3 clicks in from fully extended and going at speed I do not feel any jarring in the bars. Surprised me actually..l