Raptor Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright Im new here as you can tell(the s/n doent really fit here but I have the same screen name on all the car/truck boards im on to keep it simple for me) Im just getting into riding these past 2 years thanks to my fiance(Im more of a car/truck nut- but anything that goes fast on all 4 is cool with me) so my lingo and descriptions might be off, but im hoping you guys can help us out!

My fiance and I have a 03 Raptor 660(or should I say he has had the 660 since new and I have been wanting a quad for a long time-now hes frustrated/bored with it and announced he wants a new dirt bike, thus I inherit the 660...kinda a bit much for me, I was looking for a trailing 4x4 auto type quad- but his has all the good parts on it already so Ill learn to handle it!)...

Within the last year we have been having one hell of a problem with it- at high RPM it will just shut off, and as it slows it will start back up on its own...it usually takes awhile for the problem to appear, we have determined it has to have something to do with it being warm/hot(after MANY times of thinking its fixed and test riding it for 5 min with no problems, only to take it on a trip and 10mins into your first real ride the problem starts up again!!!!) and once it starts it only gets worse! It will do it at any rpm and just limping it back to camp is a bitch with it running then dying then running then dying!

Heres the lowdown on the bike- just about everthing has been modified except the motor(polished covers but thats it)...its stripped down to the basics-no key just an on off switch, no headlights/tailights, etc...