Raptor Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having symptoms of a bad starter clutch, spinning starter, motor not turning over though. Ive removed the plastics, fuel tank, cover, and the starter gears.
Heres my question. I read in the manuals i downloaded here how to test it. It should spin clockwise freely, but counterclockwise it should turn with the ac magneto rotor. It seems to be checking out just fine. I have not yet removed it from the engine though, i need to get a strap wrench.
I can test it while its still on correct? Or does it HAVE to be removed to test?
Second, what else may be causing symptoms similar to that of a bad starter clutch? It ran great other than some sputtering from old gas (presumably).
What else can i check? Might it be a snapped timing chain? What is the easiest way to check that? I thought it may be a seized motor but i can turn it at the crank with a 3/4 socket easy as shit.
Im new to this guys, and ive searched everywhere, so if this has already been asked i apologize, im just new to quads and this site.
Thanks again everyone.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
and i already know about extreme and l and a designs brands, if i can narrow down the issue to the starter clutch then that is what i will install. I just dont want to spend money unnecessarily...

·
Premium Member
2,003 Posts
if the starter spins and the motor don't turn, pretty good bet its the starter clutch. Never seen any other causes for this unless the starter worked its way out and the starter gear isn't catching the rest of the gears. Might be worth checking...

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
all the hardware as tight, including the two vertical bolts that also hold the cable bracket. What about the other ideas i put?