Raptor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to 4 stroke engines and I just bought my first 350 raptor. I brought it home and it started and ran fine, it was about 40-50 degrees out. It then got really cold (15-20 degrees F) so I let it sit for 2 days. Now it's about 40 degrees F outside and when I try to start it, it idles at about 4k rpm(trail tech computer) for about 20 seconds and then dies. I close the choke a little bit to try to lower the rpms, but it's really picky as to where i put it, it'll lower the rpms, but it will still die. Then it won't restart immediately, I have to wait about 30 secs to a minute before I try again and the same issue. Please school me on what's wrong, I'm a noob!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Update

I checked the spark plug..pretty sooty, but not too too bad. Tried starting it with the airbox lid removed.....didn't idle high, but only stayed on for 5 seconds.

·
Registered
836 Posts
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to 4 stroke engines and I just bought my first 350 raptor. I brought it home and it started and ran fine, it was about 40-50 degrees out. It then got really cold (15-20 degrees F) so I let it sit for 2 days. Now it's about 40 degrees F outside and when I try to start it, it idles at about 4k rpm(trail tech computer) for about 20 seconds and then dies. I close the choke a little bit to try to lower the rpms, but it's really picky as to where i put it, it'll lower the rpms, but it will still die. Then it won't restart immediately, I have to wait about 30 secs to a minute before I try again and the same issue. Please school me on what's wrong, I'm a noob!
Give us some background info on the quad..
did you buy it new or used?
Does it have any modifications?
give a few details..

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4