Raptor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here's the deal. I rolled my quad a few weeks ago while riding. It broke the tie rod. I replaced the whole side that broke, (tie rod with ends.) I also bent my steering stem slightly so i pulled that off as well and got it straightened back out. i slapped it all back together but i cant seem to get the tires straight again. Does anyone know a trick for this? The frame and a arms are good. Im just wondering if there is a specific length for the tie rods or what. Thanks. And i am new to the quading world but i did do a few searches on this but i couldn't find the answer i was looking for. So i apologize ahead of time if this is a typical "newbie" question.

·
Master of the Electron
15,065 Posts
The most common steering stem problem is twisted splines above the pitman arm. If you can't adjust the tie rods far enough to straighten up the bars with the wheels, this is most likely the problem.

The splines have a 'key', a spot where they've been peened a bit, to force the pitman arm to only fit in one orientation... you can file this key down so the pitman arm will fit in any orientation, and, if the twist in the stem was enough, move the pitman arm over one spline to correct for the twist. This works, but causes other minor issues - if not perfectly aligned to the next spline, (and even worse for you now, probably) the steering stop will allow tighter steering in one direction than the other - a nuisance, but better than having your bars not straight with the wheels.

The only real and complete solution is a new steering stem -$79 online.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3