Raptor Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to quads and would like some opinions. I bought a 2004 raptor 660 off of ebay. It is about 2 hours aways form me. I am going to look at it this weekend. I know I have already made the commitment to buy it but I wanted to know of any certain things I should look at when I go to pick it up. I kind of know the obvious like coolant, oil, wheel bearings and carrier bearings. Any other things I could check? (maybe there are other obvious things and I'm just oblivious) ALso, are there any notorious things wrong with the 04's. Please help, and thank you in advance.

·
Registered
505 Posts
check the welds at the subframe mounting tabs, those tend to crack. Also, check the clutch/magneto covers/frame in that area for wear. Ive seen people list quads with "Only used for 20hrs" but the covers and frame showed A LOT of wear. If it clunks when u try to start it, its the one-way bearing...about $250ish in parts to fix. Also, the teeth on the sprockets should look like /\ /\ /\...not /( /( /(...if they look like the latter, time for new chain/sprockets and def isnt low hour machine. Look at the tie-rod ends where they thread into the tie-rods...thats where they commonly bend. Sit the rear of the quad up on some blocks, look for axle wobble.

I could go on and on, but you already bought it...so if you find something wrong, come back and we'll help you fix it.

·
Premium Member
2,249 Posts