Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I'm new to the ATV world and have pretty much decided that if I can make the numbers work I will be buying a Raptor 700.
My biggest question is whether the shocks on the SE are noticabley better than the base model. I love the color scheme on the SE but don't want to pay the extra $500 or so just for the looks.
My second question is whether to get an 07 or an 06. It looks like places are clearing out the 06's for a lot cheaper. Are there any major changes? Will the fuel pump and fan problems be fixed on the end of year 06's.
Thanks (in advance) for the help.

Oh one other thing. I really want my wife to get involved too. Would the Raptor 700 be too much machine for her, or is there a better choice. She is a little unsure about riding quads and whether she will enjoy it.

·
Registered
148 Posts
I just bought the SE, big difference from the old 660 as far as handling. I am not sure about your shock question, i have not had experience with both. As far as your wife, depends on what kind of woman she is. My girl hated quads, thats until she sat on it and I started it up. Ear to Ear. Just tell her take it light on the throttle. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
584 Posts
If you can get a killer deal on an 06 then you would have $ for mods including shocks.

·
Registered
178 Posts
xamdude---

Here's my logic, flawed as it may be...

I went for the standard at $6300. The SE is only $100 or so less than the GYT-R for me, so I'd go for the GYT-R before I went for the SE (unless the color scheme was that big of a deal to me, which it is not.) The GYT-R isn't worth the extra cost ($600 more for me) as I can add those items myself, and pick/choose between manufacturers (I'll probably go GYT-R A-arm skids, Armadillo engine/swingarm, and Pro Armor nerfs w/ heel)